2005 Karen Wetterhahn Memorial Award Winner Graduates

Tiffany Bredfeldt is the 2005 winner of the Karen Wetterhahn Memorial Award and third UA student to win the award.  Bredfeldt says the principles of an earlier class made her choose toxicology. Her previous learning experiences made her want to “understand and prevent disease.”

Bredfeldt received the Wetterhahn award from the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences Superfund Basic Research Program for her contribution to the field of environmental metals toxicology with work investigating the toxicity and carcinogenicity of arsenic in human bladder cells. She currently studies the ability of arsenic metabolites produced in the human body to cause cancer.

Bredfeldt graduated from the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, with a BS in microbiology. She will complete a PhD in pharmacology and toxicology this June 2006. For her postdoctoral work, she will take a fellowship in molecular carcinogenesis at the University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center.

Text taken from the UA College of Pharmacy profile at http://www.pharmacy.arizona.edu/about/profile.php?p=45