Great UA Turnout at 2007 SBRP Annual Meeting

Dec. 3, 2007

On December 3-5, 2007, 18 members of the UA SBRP attended the 2007 SBRP national scientific meeting, celebrating “20 Years of Success and a Vision for the Future” in Durham, North Carolina. A total of 9 UA SBRP posters were presented, 6 of which, were student posters. In addition, 3 prior UA Karen Wetterhahn Memorial Awardees, Sheila Healy (1998), Monica Mendez (2003), and Tiffany Bredfeldt (2005), participated in the conference. The meeting was sponsored by the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, Duke University, and the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.

As stated in the program’s introduction: “The overarching theme of the 20th Anniversary Conference is to highlight how research can affect decisions related to risk, clean-up, and public health through a better understanding of the links between exposure and basic biological mechanisms of disease”.

The 2007 annual SBRP meeting was an excellent opportunity for members of each Superfund program from around the nation to network and share lessons learned in the areas of basic environmental science and toxicology, as well as research translation and community outreach. On behalf of the UA SBRP, we were delighted that many of our team members were able to attend the SBRP 20th Anniversary Annual Meeting.